Commodity classification

Harmonized System

The Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS) is an international commodity classification system made up of 6 digits (HS-06). Both export and import statistics used in the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) database are available at the HS-06 detailed level. HS is used by nearly 200 countries or economic unions to classify more than 98% of total world trade.
In Canada, the international 6-digit root was extended to 8 digits for exports and 10 digits for imports.

This table illustrates the coding structure for imports and exports at the HS-06 level.

Harmonized System

01
01.01
0101.21

Chapter
Heading
Subheading

HS is based on a principle that goods are classified by what they are, not according to their stage of fabrication, use, made-in-Canada status, or other such criteria.

Economic activity or component material logically structures the HS Nomenclature. For example, animals and animal products are found in one section; machinery and mechanical appliances that are grouped by function are found in another.

The HS Nomenclature is divided into 21 Sections, which in general, group goods produced in the same sector of the economy. For example: Section IV, "Prepared foodstuffs; beverages, spirits and vinegar; tobacco and manufactured tobacco substitutes" (i.e. agricultural products) and Section VI "Products of the chemical or allied industries" etc. (i.e. chemical products, etc.).

Each Section is comprised of one or more Chapters with the entire Nomenclature being composed of 97 Chapters (Chapter 77 is reserved for possible future use). The Chapters of Sections I to XV (except Section XII) are grouped by Biological Genus (Section I, Chapters 1-5 "Live animals", "Meat", "Fish", "Dairy produce", etc.) or by the Raw Material from which articles are wholly or mainly made (e.g. Section VIII contains Chapter 41 - "Raw hides and skins"; Chapter 42 - "Articles of leather", etc.).

In Sections I to XV (except Section XII) the groups of products formed according to their basic material are structured or divided in two ways:

Horizontal - For the groups of products formed according to their basic material there is no apparent hierarchical order (e.g. Chapter 39 - "Plastics and articles thereof"; Chapter 44 - "Wood and articles of wood"; i.e. there is no discernable reason that Plastic should precede Wood.

Vertical - For those Chapters in which goods are grouped by raw material there is, however, a vertical structure in which articles are often classified according to their degree of processing. For example, Chapter 44 contains items such as rough wood, wood roughly squared, and some wooden finished products such as wooden tableware.

Articles may also be classified according to their use or function. This mainly occurs in Section XII and Sections XVI-XXI. For example, Section XVII contains:

  • Chapter 86 - Railway locomotives, etc.
  • Chapter 86 - Railway locomotives, etc.
  • Chapter 87 - Vehicles other than railway, etc.
  • Chapter 88 - Aircraft, etc.
  • Chapter 89 - Ships, etc.

The following example illustrates the hierarchical structure of HS code number.

  • 06 - Chapter:
    Live trees and other plants; bulbs, roots and the like; cut flowers and ornamental foliage;
    • 06.01 - Heading

      Bulbs, tubers, tuberous roots, corms, crowns and rhizomes, dormant, in growth or in flower; chicory plants and roots other than roots of heading no. 12.12;
      • 0601.10 - Subheading

        Bulbs, tubers, tuberous roots, corms, crowns and rhizomes, dormant;

The HS changes originate from the HS Committee, composed of representatives from all countries signatories to the HS convention. The Committee meets regularly at the offices of the World Customs Organization in Brussels, Belgium. It is supported by a permanent secretariat. Proposals for HS changes are submitted to the Committee through national representatives. Revisions to HS classification may happen every year, but these would consist of a minimal number of description changes, additions and deletions. Comprehensive revisions of the classification were done in 1992, 1996 and 2002. Since then, revisions have been made every five years, with the most recent updates being applied in 2017 and the next updates planned for 2022.

Concordance tables

A concordance between the 2012 and the 2017 six-digit HS classification codes is now available. This concordance table lists the terminated HS codes alongside the associated new 2017  HS codes.

More detailed concordances at the eight-digit (exports) and ten-digit (imports) Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System classification code levels are available upon request (statcan.itdtrade-dcicommerce.statcan@canada.ca).

Classification des marchandises

Système harmonisé

Le Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises (SH) est un système international de classification des marchandises composé de six chiffres. Les statistiques sur les importations et les exportations utilisées dans cette base de données du Commerce international canadien de marchandises (CICM) en ligne utilisent le niveau de détail SH-06. Le SH est utilisé dans près de 200 pays ou unions économiques pour classer plus de 98 % de l'ensemble du commerce international.

Au Canada, le codage international à six chiffres a été étendu à huit chiffres pour les produits exportés et à dix chiffres pour les produits importés.

Le tableau qui suit indique les structures de codification relatives aux importations et aux exportations.

Système harmonisé

01
01.01
0101.21

Chapitre
Position
Sous-position

Le Système harmonisé est fondé sur le principe fondamental selon lequel les biens sont classés d'après leur nature et non d'après leur stade de fabrication ou leur utilisation, ni d'après leur état de produit fabriqué au Canada ou tout autre critère de ce genre.

La Nomenclature du Système harmonisé est structurée de manière logique en fonction de l'activité économique ou de la matière constitutive. Par exemple, les animaux et les produits du règne animal se trouvent dans une section, tandis que les machines et les appareils regroupés d'après leur fonction font partie d'une autre section.

La Nomenclature du SH est divisée en 21 Sections, regroupant, en général, les marchandises produites dans le même secteur de l'économie. Par exemple : Section IV, « Produits des industries alimentaires; boissons, liquides alcooliques et vinaigres; tabacs et succédanés de tabac fabriqués » (c'est-à-dire les produits agricoles) et Section VI, « Produits des industries chimiques ou des industries connexes », etc. (c'est-à-dire les produits chimiques, etc.).

Chaque Section comprend un ou plusieurs Chapitres, et l'ensemble de la Nomenclature compte 97 Chapitres (le Chapitre 77 étant réservé pour une utilisation future). Les Chapitres des Sections I à XV (sauf ceux de la Section XII) sont regroupés selon le règne biologique (Section I, Chapitres 1 à 5, « Animaux vivants », « Viandes et abats comestibles », « Poissons », « Produits de la laiterie », etc.) ou selon la matière brute à partir de laquelle l'ensemble ou une grande partie des articles sont fabriqués (p. ex. la Section VIII renferme le Chapitre 41 – « Peaux et cuirs » et le Chapitre 42 – « Ouvrages en cuir », etc.).

Aux Sections I à XV (sauf à la Section XII), les groupes de produits formés selon la matière brute sont structurés ou divisés de deux façons :

Horizontalement - Pour les groupes de produits formés selon la matière brute, il ne semble y avoir aucun ordre hiérarchique (par exemple : Chapitre 39 - « Matières plastiques et ouvrages en ces matières »; Chapitre 44 - « Bois, charbon de bois et ouvrages en bois »). Il n'y a aucune raison évidente justifiant le fait que les matières plastiques précèdent le bois.

Verticalement - Pour les Chapitres où les produits sont groupés selon la matière brute, il y a toutefois une structure verticale suivant laquelle les articles sont souvent classifiés en fonction de leur niveau de transformation. Par exemple, le Chapitre 44 comprend des produits comme le bois brut, le bois écorcé et certains ouvrages en bois, tels que les articles en bois pour la table.

Les articles peuvent aussi être classifiés selon leur usage ou fonction, comme c'est le cas surtout à la Section XII et aux Sections XVI à XXI. Par exemple, la Section XVII contient les produits suivants :

  • Chapitre 86 - Locomotives, etc.
  • Chapitre 87 - Véhicules non ferroviaires, etc.
  • Chapitre 88 - Aéronefs, etc.
  • Chapitre 89 - Bateaux, etc.

L'exemple qui suit illustre la structure hiérarchique du numéro de code du SH :

  • 06 - Chapitre
    Plantes vivantes et autres plantes, bulbes, racines, etc., fleurs coupées et feuillages pour ornements.
    • 06.01 - Position

      Bulbes, oignons, tubercules, racines tubéreuses, griffes et rhizomes, en repos végétatif, en végétation ou en fleur; plants, plantes et racines de chicorée autres que les racines du no 12.12.
      •  0601.10 - Sous-position

        Bulbes, oignons, tubercules, racines tubéreuses, griffes et rhizomes, en repos végétatif.

Les changements au SH proviennent du Comité du système harmonisé, lequel est composé de représentants de tous les pays signataires de la Convention sur le système harmonisé. Le Comité se rencontre régulièrement aux bureaux de l'Organisation mondiale des douanes à Bruxelles, Belgique. Il est soutenu par un secrétariat permanent. Les propositions de changements au SH sont soumises au Comité par l'intermédiaire de représentants nationaux. Les révisions aux codes du SH peuvent survenir chaque année mais celles-ci comprendraient en général une quantité minime de changements aux descriptions, d'additions et de suppressions. Des révisions de plus grande envergure ont été effectuées en 1992, 1996 et 2002. Depuis, les révisions sont effectuées aux 5 ans, avec la révision la plus récente effectuée en 2017, la prochaine révision étant prévue pour 2022.

Tableau de concordance

Un tableau de concordance entre les codes du SH à six chiffres de 2012 et ceux de 2017 est maintenant disponible. Ce tableau de concordance répertorie les codes du SH qui ont été supprimés ainsi que les codes à six chiffres du SH de 2017 qui les remplacent.

Une concordance plus détaillée au niveau du code à huit et à dix chiffres du Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises est disponible sur demande (statcan.itdtrade-dcicommerce.statcan@canada.ca).