Concepts

General concepts

Customs-basis data versus balance-of-payments basis data

Merchandise trade statistics are produced on both a customs basis (raw and seasonally adjusted) and a balance of payment basis (seasonally adjusted).

Customs-based trade data are derived from the administrative records of the Canada Border Services Agency and the United States Customs Border Protection. Balance of payments trade statistics adjust customs-based information to conform to the concepts and definitions of the System of National Accounts.

The principal difference between the two trade concepts is that customs-based merchandise trade statistics cover the physical movement of goods, while balance-of-payments-adjusted data are intended to cover all economic transactions between residents and non-residents that involve merchandise trade.

Canada's merchandise export and import data are inputs into the System of National Accounts, particularly related to balance of payments and gross domestic product, and are used in the formation of trade and budgetary policies.

Data in the CIMT database are produced on a customs basis.

Free on board

The value of goods measured on a free on board (FOB) basis includes all production and other costs incurred up until the moment that goods are placed on board an international carrier for export. FOB values exclude international insurance and transport costs.

Non-merchandise trade

Goods that cross the customs frontier, but do not alter Canada's stock of material resources.

Quantity

The quantity associated with a commodity is determined based on the unit of measure used to declare the goods. Units of measure are alphabetic abbreviations represented by three characters, which were developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The number of units refers to complete (or substantially complete) units exported or imported, excluding parts. Weight and volume measures generally exclude packaging used for shipment.

Abbreviations Meaning
CTM Carat
MTQ Cubic metre
DZN Dozen
DPR Dozen pairs
GBQ Gigabecquerel
GRM Gram
GRO Gross
HLT Hectolitre
KGM Kilogram
KSD Kilogram air dry
KNS Kilogram named substance
LTR Litre
LPA Litres of pure alcohol
MBQ Megabecquerel
MWH Megawatt hour
MTR Metre
TNE Metric tonne
TSD Metric tonne air dry
NMB Number
NAP Pack
PAR Pair
CMK Square centimetre
MTK Square metre
MIL Thousand
TMQ 1000 cubic metre

Unit of measure

The metric unit of measure used to indicate the quantity of goods imported or exported.

Export concepts

Country of final destination

Export statistics are attributed to the country that is the last known destination of the goods at the time of export. Exports to the United States are attributed to the state of destination.

Domestic exports

Include goods grown, produced, extracted or manufactured in Canada, including goods of foreign origin that have been materially transformed in Canada.

Exports

Produced or manufactured Canadian goods that are subtracted from the stock of material resources in Canada, as a result of their movement out of the country.

Export valuation

Export data to all countries are measured in Canadian dollars.

Exports to countries other than the United States are recorded at the values declared on export documents. These values usually reflect an item’s transaction value, i.e., the actual selling price used for company accounting purposes. Canadian exports to overseas countries are valued at FOB, port of exit, including domestic freight charges to that point but excluding discounts and allowances.

Data on exports to the United States are collected by the United States as import data from Canada, converted to Canadian dollars using an average monthly rate provided by the Bank of Canada, and sent to Canada for dissemination as Canadian exports.

Province of origin

Province (or territory) where the goods are grown, extracted or manufactured. This may not always be the province where the goods were cleared at customs.

In the case of re-exports, province of origin is the one from which the goods were shipped.

Re-exports

Goods, materials or articles originally imported into Canada that are exported, either in the same condition in which they were imported or after some minor operations (e.g., blending, packaging, bottling, cleaning or sorting) that leave them essentially unchanged.

State of destination

Canadian exports to the United States are attributed to the state of destination.

Total exports

All goods leaving the country (through customs) for a foreign destination. Total exports are the sum of domestic exports and re-exports.

Import concepts

Country of export

The country from which the goods were exported into Canada. For U.S. goods, state of origin is used for statistical purposes. In most-but not all-cases, the country of exit is the same as the country of origin.

Country of origin

For imports and import clearances, the country of origin is the country of production or the country in which the final stage of production or manufacture occurs. For U.S. goods, state of origin is used for statistical purposes.

Imports

Goods that have entered the country by crossing territorial (customs) boundaries, whether for immediate domestic consumption (following the payment of any duty) or for storage in customs (bonded) warehouses. Duty is not paid at that time.

Re-imports are included in Canadian trade data. These are goods, materials or articles that are imported in either the same condition in which they were exported or after undergoing repair or minor alterations (e.g., blending, packaging, bottling, cleaning or sorting) that leave them essentially unchanged.

Domestic re-imports are goods of Canadian origin, whether grown, extracted, or manufactured in Canada that are exported to another country and then returned to Canada in 'the same state' as they were sent out. They are classified under HS 98.13 showing the country of origin as Canada.

Import valuation

Import data to all countries are collected in Canadian dollars.

Canadian imports are valued FOB place of direct shipment to Canada. The import valuation excludes costs of freight and insurance in bringing the goods to Canada from the point of direct shipment.

Province of clearance

The Canadian province where the goods were cleared at customs, either for immediate consumption or for entry into a bonded customs warehouse. This may not always be the province in which the goods are consumed.

Date modified:

Concepts

Concepts généraux

Base douanière versus Base de la balance des paiements

Les statistiques sur le commerce des marchandises sont produites sur une base douanière (données brutes et chiffres corrigés des variations saisonnières) et sur une base de la balance des paiements (chiffres corrigés des variations saisonnières).

Les données sur la base douanière sont dérivées des dossiers administratifs obtenus de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et du United States Customs Border Protection (USCBP). Les données statistiques de la balance des paiements rectifient l'information établie sur une base douanière pour qu'elles puissent concorder avec les concepts et les définitions du Système de comptabilité nationale.

La différence principale entre ces deux concepts commerciaux est que les statistiques sur le commerce de marchandises établies sur une base douanière couvrent le mouvement physique des marchandises, alors que les données établies en fonction de la balance des paiements portent sur toutes les transactions économiques effectuées entre résidents et non-résidents du Canada et qui concernent le commerce de marchandises.

Les renseignements sur les importations et les exportations sont introduits dans le Système de comptabilité nationale, notamment en ce qui concerne la balance des paiements et le produit intérieur brut, et servent à formuler les politiques commerciales et budgétaires.

Les données contenues dans le CICM sont produites sur une base douanière.

Commerce des invisibles

Marchandises qui traversent la frontière douanière, mais qui ne modifient pas le stock de ressources matérielles du Canada.

Franco à bord

Valeur des marchandises incluant tous les coûts de production et autres coûts jusqu'au moment où les marchandises sont placées à bord du transporteur international en vue de leur exportation. Le prix franco à bord exclut les frais de transport et d'assurance à l'étranger.

Quantité

La quantité associée à un produit est déterminée en fonction de l'unité de mesure utilisée pour déclarer les marchandises. Les unités de mesure sont représentées par des abréviations alphabétiques à trois caractères, qui ont été mises au point par l'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO). Le « nombre » d'unités se rapporte aux nombres des unités complètes (ou presque complètes) exportées ou importées, à l'exclusion des parties. Les mesures de poids et de volume n'incluent pas, en général, l'emballage nécessaire pour expédier les marchandises.

Abbréviations Signification
CTM Carat
MTQ Mètre cube
DZN Douzaine
DPR Douzaine de paires
GBQ Gigabecquerel
GRM Gramme
GRO Brut
HLT Hectolitre
KGM Kilogramme
KSD Kilogramme séché à l'air
KNS Kilogramme de la matière mentionnée
LTR Litre
LPA Litre d'alcool éthylique absolu
MBQ Mégabecquerel
MWH Mégawattheures
MTR Mètre
TNE Tonne métrique
TSD Tonne métrique séchée à l'air
NMB Numéro
NAP Paquet
PAR Paire
CMK Centimètre carré
MTK Mètre carré
MIL Mille
TMQ Mille mètres cubes

Unité de mesure

Unité métrique de mesure utilisée pour indiquer la quantité des marchandises importées ou exportées.

Concepts relatifs aux exportations

état de destination

Les exportations canadiennes vers les États-Unis sont attribuées à l'état de destination.

évaluation des exportations

Les données sur les exportations vers tous les pays sont recueillies en dollars canadiens.

Dans le cas des pays autres que les États-Unis, les exportations sont évaluées ou enregistrées selon la valeur déclarée dans les documents d'exportation; il s'agit habituellement de la valeur transactionnelle, c.-à-d. du prix de vente réel adopté par les sociétés à des fins comptables. Les exportations canadiennes vers des pays d'outre-mer sont évaluées sur la base du prix F.A.B. (Franco à bord) au point de sortie, ces prix comprenant le fret intérieur jusqu'à ce point, mais pas les escomptes ni les rabais.

Les données sur les exportations vers les États-Unis sont recueillies par les États-Unis comme des données sur les importations en provenance du Canada, converties en dollars canadiens en utilisant un taux mensuel moyen fourni par la Banque du Canada et envoyées au Canada pour publication en tant qu'exportations canadiennes.

Exportations

Marchandises produites ou fabriquées au Canada, qui sont retranchées du stock de ressources matérielles du Canada à la suite de leur envoi hors du pays.

Exportations nationales

Les exportations nationales comprennent les produits cultivés, produits, extraits ou fabriqués au Canada, y compris les produits d'origine étrangère qui ont été transformés au Canada.

Exportations totales

Les exportations totales comprennent tous les produits qui quittent le pays (en passant par les douanes) pour une destination étrangère. Elles sont composées des exportations nationales et des réexportations (exportations totales = exportations nationales + réexportations).

Pays de destination finale

Les statistiques d'exportation sont établies en fonction du pays représentant la dernière destination connue des marchandises, au moment de leur exportation. Dans le cas des états Unis, les exportations sont définies en fonction de l'état de destination.

Province d'origine

Province (ou territoire) où les produits ont été cultivés, extraits ou fabriqués. Cette province peut ne pas être la même que celle où les produits ont été dédouanés.

Dans le cas des produits réexportés (c'est-à-dire les produits qui ont d'abord été importés au Canada et qui sont exportés dans le même état), la province est la même que celle à partir de laquelle les produits ont été expédiés.

Réexportations

Fait référence aux marchandises, matériaux ou articles d'abord importés au Canada, puis exportés, soit dans le même état qu'au moment de leur importation, soit après n'avoir subi que des altérations mineures (p. ex., mélange, emballage, embouteillage, nettoyage et tri) qui font qu'elles demeurent essentiellement inchangées.

Concepts relatifs aux importations

évaluation des importations

Les données sur les importations dans tous les pays sont recueillies en dollars canadiens.

Le prix des importations canadiennes est le prix Franco à bord (F.A.B.), lieu d'expédition directe au Canada. Les coûts du fret et de l'assurance nécessaires pour acheminer les marchandises au Canada depuis le point d'expédition directe ne sont pas compris.

Importations

Les produits qui sont entrés au Canada après y avoir franchi la frontière (douanes) pour y être consommés immédiatement (après le paiement des droits et taxes applicables) ou pour y être mis dans un entrepôt de stockage sous douane (les droits et taxes ne sont pas payés à ce moment-là).

Dans le cas du Canada, les réimportations sont incluses dans nos données sur le commerce. Il s'agit de produits, de matériaux ou d'articles qui sont importés dans le même état dans lequel ils ont été exportés ou après avoir subi quelques réparations ou modifications mineures (p. ex., mélange, emballage, mise en bouteilles, nettoyage et triage), ce qui les laisse pratiquement inchangés.

Les réimportations nationales font référence aux produits d'origine canadienne, aux produits qui ont été cultivés, extraits ou fabriqués au Canada, qui sont exportés vers un autre pays avant de revenir au Canada « dans le même état » qu'ils avaient été envoyés. Elles sont classifiées sous la catégorie S.H. 98.13 indiquant que le pays d'origine est le Canada.

Pays d'exportation

Pays d'où les produits ont été exportés au Canada. Dans le cas des États-Unis, l'état d'origine est utilisé à des fins statistiques. Dans la plupart des cas, le pays de sortie est le même que le pays d'origine, mais il est important de savoir qu'ils peuvent parfois différer.

Pays d'origine

Pour ce qui est du dédouanement des importations et des exportations, le pays d'origine est le pays de production ou le pays dans lequel est réalisée la dernière étape de production ou de fabrication. Dans le cas des États-Unis, l'état d'origine est utilisé à des fins statistiques.

Province de dédouanement

Indique la province canadienne où les produits ont été visés par les douanes, soit pour une consommation immédiate, soit pour une entrée dans un entrepôt de stockage sous douane. Il arrive que ce ne soit pas la province où ils sont consommés.